EU News
Printable version

Aviation Safety: Commission adopts new EU Air Safety List

The European Commission yesterday updated the EU Air Safety List, which is the list of airlines that are subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union as they do not meet international safety standards. Ensuring the highest level of air safety for Europeans and all other passengers travelling to and within the European Union is at the very heart of the Commission's aviation safety policy.

With yesterday's update, all airlines certified in Moldova have been removed from the EU Air Safety List, following improvements to aviation safety in the country. One Russian air carrier has however been added to the List, due to concerns about its ability to comply with international standards.

Commissioner for Transport Adina Vălean yesterday said:

“Maintaining the highest level of safety for all air travellers and personnel is a top priority. The EU's Air Safety List remains one of our most effective tools to achieve this. I am particularly glad that after two years of intense work, we are today able to remove all air carriers from Moldova from this list, opening the door for them to fly again to the EU. It shows that hard work and close cooperation pay off.”

The EU Air Safety List not only helps to maintain high levels of safety in the EU, but also helps affected airlines and countries to improve theirs. In addition, the EU Air Safety List has become a significant preventive tool, as it motivates countries to take early action before a ban becomes necessary.

Following yesterday's update, 97 airlines are banned from EU skies:

  • 90 airlines certified in 15 states, due to inadequate safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states;
  • Seven individual airlines, based on serious safety deficiencies identified: Avior Airlines (Venezuela), Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname), Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq), Med-View Airlines (Nigeria), Skol Airline LLC (Russia) and Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe).

An additional two airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Iran Air (Iran) and Air Koryo (North Korea).

Click here for the full press release


Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
EU News