EU News
Printable version

Background – The new European Parliament after Brexit

The withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the EU on 31 January 2020 signalled a series of changes in the way the Parliament is set up.

This background note gives a brief overview of changes that took place now that the Withdrawal Agreement has come into effect as of the 1 February 2020.

Parliament’s composition after Brexit

As a non-EU country, the UK will no longer be represented at EU level, so Parliament will be composed of 705 seats instead of 751. Of the 73 UK seats in the European Parliament, 27 will be redistributed to member states and the remaining 46 will be held in reserve for future EU enlargements.

Under the new set-up, no member state will lose any MEPs. A few countries will see an increase in their number of representatives, in line with the new relative population sizes of member states, while the new distribution also ensures a minimum level of representation for the smallest EU countries. Member states that will see an increase in the number of MEPs are expected to announce or confirm their names to the Parliament. Their term will officially start on 1 February 2020.

Who are the new MEPs?

All 27 MEPs that will take up office on 1 February 2020 were elected at the May 2019 European Elections. In line with the 1976 electoral act, member states have to notify the European Parliament of the names of the new MEPs taking up their seats before their mandates can officially start.

Depending on national rules, some names have already been confirmed, while others are still pending. You can find all current MEPs on the European Parliament’s dedicated webpage.

Click here for the full press release


Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
EU News

Preventing Unwanted Sensitive Data Acquisition on Government Networks