Northern Ireland Assembly
Printable version

Committee Criticises Department on Release of Papers

The Assembly Committee for Regional Development has expressed its extreme disappointment that the Department continues to refuse to provide it with papers critical to their inquiry into the Coleraine to Londonderry railway project.

Speaking after the meeting, the Deputy Chair to the Committee, Mr Sean Lynch MLA said, “On five occasions, the Committee has asked for the key Project Assessment Review (PAR) report which deals with the Department’s failure to deliver this key rail route. The Department has refused to provide the Committee with this report without any reasonable explanation. This is unacceptable.

“The Derry line is integral to the economic and social well-being of the North West and is a project that the Committee is fully supportive of. We will not allow the Department or Translink to cover their mistakes up. By refusing us the report, the Department has left the Committee no option but to follow the legal process to gain access to the report.”

Committee Membership:

The Chairperson of the Committee is Trevor Clarke MLA 
The Deputy Chairperson is Sean Lynch MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

Joe Byrne MLA
John Dallat MLA
Alex Easton MLA
Ross Hussey MLA
Chris Lyttle MLA
Declan McAleer MLA
David McNarry MLA 
Stephen Moutray MLA
Cathal Ó hOisín MLA 


Channel website:

Share this article

Latest News from
Northern Ireland Assembly

Professional Diploma in Social Media for Government & Public Sector