EU News
Printable version

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures against Belarus

On 17 February 2020, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/214[1] amending Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP.

The Council Decision prolongs the restrictive measures against Belarus for one year, until 28 February 2021.

The Candidate Countries Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this decision.[2]

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.
The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 18.02.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 45, p. 3

[2] Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Press contacts

Virginie Battu

Spokesperson for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

+32 470 18 24 05


Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
EU News

On-Demand Webinar: Better Understand and Manage your Natural Capital