Welsh Government
Printable version

Give your community champions the recognition they deserve - Lesley Griffiths

Communities Minister, Lesley Griffiths, has urged people across Wales to nominate exceptional individuals or groups in the Citizenship category of the St David Awards.

The Awards, now in their third year, celebrate the extraordinary achievements of the people of Wales. The deadline for nominations is midnight 27 October 2015.

Lesley Griffiths, said:

“As Minister for Communities and Tackling Poverty, I am privileged to travel the length and breadth of Wales meeting exceptional people who make huge contributions to their communities. These people are involved in a wide range of sectors – from voluntary groups and social enterprises, to housing organisations and youth groups.

“Time and again, I am struck by their dedication to improving the lives of others. They are a credit to our nation. This is why I am calling for people across Wales to nominate an individual or group in the Citizenship category of the St David Awards.

“With less than a fortnight to go until nominations close, make sure you do not miss this opportunity to celebrate your community champions. Nominating is easy – get online and put someone forward!”

You can nominate people in eight award categories: Bravery, Citizenship, Culture, Enterprise, Innovation and Technology, Sport, the International Award and the Young Person’s Award.


Channel website: http://gov.wales

Share this article

Latest News from
Welsh Government

Professional Training - Aspiring Leaders Programme