Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Printable version

Global Coalition of nations unite to defeat terrorist organisation ISIL

ISIL’s violent actions have caused humanitarian crises and human suffering. Watch our animation on the Global Coalition of 63 nations working to degrade and destroy ISIL.

The Global Coalition is countering ISIL (Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant also known as Islamic State, Da’esh or ISIS) through targeted military action. It is working to cut off ISIL’s finances, reduce the influx of fighters, provide humanitarian assistance to those affected by ISIL’s brutality and chaos and support activists to challenge ISIL’s poisonous ideology.

Global Coalition unites to defeat terrorist organisation ISIL

The 63 nations form the Global Coalition to counter ISIL are: Albania, the Arab League, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, European Union, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine, UAE, UK and the US.

Yesterday, Tuesday 2 June 2015, the Small Group of the Global Coalition to Counter ISIL met in Paris to discuss the next steps.

Read more about what the UK government is doing as part of the global coalition working together to dismantle and destroy the threat of ISIL.


Channel website:

Share this article

Latest News from
Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Why we should be measuring social value