Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Printable version

Invasive Species Order 2019: consultation opens

Also published by:
Natural England

The Government has confirmed the implementation date of the Invasive Alien Species (Enforcement and Permitting) Order 2019.

consultation into how best to manage invasive non-native species which threaten our native wildlife has been launched by the government.

Under EU law, management measures must be put in place for widespread invasive alien species. The eight-week consultation will ask for views on ways to manage populations of species of concern (listed below).

It comes as the government confirmed that the Invasive Alien Species (Enforcement and Permitting) Order 2019 – which brings EU legislation into UK law - will come into force on 1 December 2019.

Biosecurity Minister Lord Gardiner recently (19 July 2019) said:

Invasive non-native species not only challenge the survival of some of our rarest species but damage our natural ecosystems as well as costing the economy more than £1.7 billion per year.

The law requires management measures to be put in place and this consultation will ensure we consider the evidence on how best to manage these species of concern.

The UK will continue to uphold international obligations and also as a responsible partner nation working closely with other countries to protect our native wildlife and forestry landscapes for future generations to enjoy.

Invasive species

The 14 species identified as being widely spread in England and Wales and requiring management are:


  • Nuttall’s waterweed (Elodea nuttallii)
  • Chilean rhubarb (Gunnera tinctoria)
  • Giant hogweed (Heracleum mantegazzianum)
  • Floating pennywort (Hydrocotyle ranunculoides)
  • Himalayan balsam (Impatiens glandulifera)
  • Curly waterweed (Lagarosiphon major)
  • American skunk cabbage (Lysichiton americanus)
  • Parrot’s feather (Myriophyllum aquaticum)


  • Egyptian goose (Alopochen aegyptiacus)
  • Chinese mitten crab (Eriocheir sinensis)
  • Muntjac deer (Muntiacus reevesi)
  • Signal crayfish (Pacifastacus leniusculus)
  • Grey squirrel (Sciurus carolinensis)
  • all subspecies of (Trachemys scripta) otherwise known as “slider terrapins”


Channel website:

Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs