Welsh Government
Printable version

Minister announces forty schools to take on the Challenge

The forty schools which will be part of the Schools Challenge Cymru programme have been announced today by Education and Skills Minister Huw Lewis 

Called Pathways to Success Schools, these forty secondary schools will be part of the Welsh Government’s multi-million pound, improvement programme to increase performance in Welsh schools.

Schools have been chosen using a range of performance data and information that highlights the challenges they face in terms of their circumstances and stage of development. They have been also been chosen as it is believed they have the potential to deliver swift and positive improvements for learners.

Working with their Schools Challenge Cymru advisor, each Pathways to Success School will be given the opportunity to access proven expertise, to deliver a package of support that is individually tailored to meet each school’s needs and the needs of their learners. This will be backed by around £20 million of Welsh Government funding.

The programme will also provide targeted support to participant schools’ cluster primaries in order to address challenges at the earliest opportunity and improve transition between these key stages of education.

Making the announcement Huw Lewis said:

“Today is a landmark day for Wales as we announce the forty schools which are going to be taking part in our Challenge.

“I’ve made no secret of my desire for a relentless focus on improving the quality of teaching and learning here in Wales. These schools have been chosen as we believe they have the potential to make swift and lasting improvements which will benefit learners in the short term and long into the future.

“What we’re doing here in Wales is really special. We’ve learned from the most successful parts of the London and Manchester Challenges and delivered something specifically tailored for our young people in Wales.

“I’m delighted that Professor Mel Ainscow has agreed to be our Schools Challenge Cymru Champion.  He will make a real difference, providing knowledge, expertise, quality assurance and support to the initiative.

“It makes full use of some of our finest practitioners and highest performing schools to form partnerships and to share expertise. The knowledge and expertise that is needed to improve already exists within the Welsh education system and we must exploit it. We must make the best practices available to all children and young people in Wales.

“We must drive up educational standards in Wales for all our learners, raising levels of literacy and numeracy and, in so doing, breaking the link between educational attainment and poverty. Today’s announcement is a major step forward in making that happen.”

A full list of schools including the relevant local authority and regional consortia is set out below:

Abersychan Comprehensive -Torfaen - EAS
Abertillery Comprehensive - Blaenau Gwent - EAS
Afon Taf High School - Merthyr Tydfil - Central South Wales
Barry Comprehensive School - The Vale of Glamorgan - Central South Wales
Bedwas High School - Caerphilly - EAS
Bishop Headley High School - Merthyr Tydfil - Central South Wales
Blackwood Comprehensive School - Caerphilly - EAS
Cantonian High School - Cardiff - Central South Wales
Coleg Cymunedol Y Dderwen - Bridgend - Central South Wales
Eastern High School - Cardiff - Central South Wales
Ebbw Fawr Learning Community - Blaenau Gwent - EAS
Fairwater High School - Torfaen - EAS
Glyn Derw High School - Cardiff - Central South Wales
Hawthorn High School - Rhondda Cynon Taf - Central South Wales
Heolddu Comprehensive School - Caerphilly - EAS
Holywell High School - Flintshire - Gwe
Llantarnam School - Torfaen - EAS
Llanwern High School - Newport - EAS
Lliswerry High School - Newport - EAS
Michaelston Community College - Cardiff - Central South Wales
Milford Haven School - Pembrokeshire - ERW
Morriston Comprehensive - Swansea - ERW
Pentrehafod School - Swansea - ERW
Pen-Y-Dre High School - Merthyr Tydfil - Central South Wales
Porth County Community - Rhondda Cynon Taf - Central South Wales
Rhosnesni High School - Wrexham - Gwe
St Cenydd School - Caerphilly - EAS
St Julian's School - Newport - EAS
St Martin's School - Caerphilly - EAS
St Illtyd's Catholic High School - Cardiff - Central South Wales
The Pontypridd High School - Rhondda Cynon Taf - Central South Wales
Tonypandy Community College - Rhondda Cynon Taf - Central South Wales
Tonyrefail School - Rhondda Cynon Taf - Central South Wales
Tredegar Comprehensive School - Blaenau Gwent - EAS
West Monmouth School - Torfaen - EAS
Willows High School - Cardiff - Central South Wales
Ysgol Bro Dinefwr - Carmarthenshire - ERW
Ysgol Bryn Alyn - Wrexham - Gwe
Ysgol Clywedog - Wrexham - Gwe
Ysgol Uwchradd Caergybi - Isle of Anglesey - Gwe 

Channel website: https://www.icaew.com

Share this article

Latest News from
Welsh Government

Get more out of life! Join CSSC for only £4.95pm!