Printable version

NHS Improvement forms new advisory panels to bring together expertise from across the NHS

National improvement body announces the formation of new advisory panels.

Chairs and chief executives from across the NHS are being brought together to provide advice to the new organisation responsible for supporting the NHS as it meets the challenge of revolutionising care to meet the changing need of patients.

The leadership of NHS Improvement – which brings together Monitor, the NHS Trust Development Authority and other teams from NHS England – will be advised by the 2 new panels: one made up of current NHS chief executives, the other of current NHS chairs.

The panels – which will meet every few months – will provide feedback on things working well in their own organisations as well as offering advice on new policies and proposals designed to lead to real improvements for patients and seeking advice for dealing with ongoing issues.

They will operate alongside our continuing work with NHS Providers and the NHS Confederation.

They both have representatives from across the NHS, including from acute, specialist, ambulance, community and mental health providers.

The chief executives panel consists of

  • Neil Dardis (Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust)
  • Mike Deegan (Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Colm Donaghy (Sussex Partnership NHS FT); Mary Edwards (Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Will Hancock (South Central Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Julian Hartley (Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust)
  • Peter Homa (Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust)
  • Clive Kay (Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Anthony Marsh (West Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Sally Morris (South Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Claire Murdoch (Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Angela Pedder (Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Pauline Philip (Luton and Dunstable University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Simon Pleydell (Whittington Health NHS Trust)
  • Amanda Pritchard (Guys and St Thomas’ Hospital NHS Foundation Trust)
  • David Sloman (Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Tracy Taylor (Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust)
  • Matthew Winn (Cambridge Community Services NHS Trust).

The chairs panel consists of:

  • Peter Wyman (Care Quality Commission)
  • Ashley Winter (North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Bob Kerslake (King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Chris Outram (The Christie NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Christine Braddock (Birmingham Children’s Hospital NHS Foundation Trust)
  • David Griffiths (Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust)
  • David Henshaw (Alder Hey Children’s NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Dean Fathers (Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust and United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust)
  • Dominic Dodd (Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Elizabeth Padmore (Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Heather Strawbridge (South West Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Hugh Taylor (Guy’s & St Thomas’ Hospital NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Jacqui Smith (University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Janardan Sofat (Dartford & Gravesham NHS Trust)
  • John Bacon (Barts and the London NHS Trust)
  • Linda Pollard (Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust)
  • Liz Butler (Lewisham & Greenwich NHS Trust)
  • Michael Luger (Airedale NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Neil Franklin (Leeds Community Healthcare NHS Trust)
  • Nick Marsden (Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Nigel Beverley (Basildon & Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Prem Singh (Derbyshire Community Health Services NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Richard Murley (University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Rudy Markham (Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Simon Linnett (Luton & Dunstable University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Sue Davis (Birmingham & Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Thomas Hughes-Hallett (Chelsea & Westminster NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Tim Melville-Ross (Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Tom Hayhoe (West London Mental Health NHS Trust)

Jim Mackey, Chief Executive of NHS Improvement said:

Ideas for how we improve the experience patients receive from the NHS won’t come from the centre, but are being implemented day in, day out across the sector.

That’s why I’ve called together some of the most experienced Chief Executives from all around the NHS – from acute, specialist, mental health and community providers – to share their experiences and make sure that, when NHS Improvement decides something, it will have the support of the people whose organisations will need to implement it.

Ed Smith, Chair of NHS Improvement added:

As the national improvement body, we are in a unique position to bring together people from around the NHS to share ideas, experience and views with the goal of making a difference to the lives of patients.

These panels are a great example of a concrete thing NHS Improvement can do to learn from, and to share ideas around, the sector.


Channel website:

Share this article

Latest News from

Adoption of Intelligent Automation in the Public Sector