Scottish Government
Printable version

New colleges body created for Glasgow

Responsibilities will include planning and funding of the city’s three colleges.

The funding of Glasgow’s three colleges will be determined by a new strategic body that will ensure that local education and employment priorities are being met.

Cabinet Secretary for Education and Lifelong Learning, Michael Russell, has appointed former First Minister Henry McLeish to chair the new Regional Board for Glasgow Colleges.

It will lead a more joined-up approach in delivering high quality further and higher education across the city with greater accountability for outcomes.

Mr Russell has also appointed 16 other members to the Regional Board. He said:

“Today marks the start of a new era for education in Glasgow. The city is in a unique position of being served by three colleges of very significant scale, influence and reputation.

“This board will develop the existing partnerships that support each college’s strengths and create new opportunities for all three to excel in meeting the needs of student and employers in the Greater Glasgow area.

“This is a brand new type of college sector organisation with a board of great experience, reflecting the sort of gender balance we want to see on the boards of all public bodies and I wish them every success.”

Regional Board Chair Henry McLeish said:

“This is a great opportunity for Glasgow and Scotland. A new chapter in education has opened and I look forward to working closely with our schools, universities and other key partners to further develop the most progressive education system in Europe. I am especially pleased that in this new era we have established a Board with gender equality. We look forward to working closely with our students, staff, trade unions and the three colleges.”

Notes To Editors

Glasgow’s three colleges are: Glasgow Clyde College, Glasgow Kelvin College and City of Glasgow College.

The Regional Board appointments are:

Henry McLeish (chair)

Cinzia Biondi

Carol Kirk

Prof Pamela Gillies

Suzanne Hester

Dr Peter T Hughes

Linda McDowall

Janet McKay

Maureen McKenna

Grahame Smith.

In addition, the following board members have been appointed until 31 July 2014 to fill the gap in board membership there would otherwise be until the Regional Board has responsibilities for colleges:

Andrew Aitken (student member)

Barclay McCrindle (student member)

Clare Ireland (non-teaching staff member)

Jim O’Donovan (teaching staff member)

Douglas Baillie (chair, City of Glasgow College)

Irving Hodgson (chair, Glasgow Kelvin College)

Mark Toma (chair, Glasgow Clyde College).

Channel website:

Share this article

Latest News from
Scottish Government