Economic and Social Research Council
Printable version

Productivity institute: expressions of interests invited

As part of the ESRC’s Transforming Productivity Research priority, expressions of interest are being invited from researchers at eligible research organisations to develop bids for a productivity institute.

The focus of the institute will be to understand and address UK productivity challenges through a portfolio of research, innovation and co-ordination activities. A single five year award in the region of £30 million is being considered. The institute would also influence the direction and allocation of a further £11 million of funding for research and innovation activities.

ESRC is exploring funding through the UKRI Strategic Priorities Fund for this initiative. Further information will be available on the ESRC website in due course.

Important note on researcher eligibility:

Candidates for principal investigator (Institute Director-elect) should be based at a UK research organisation eligible to receive UKRI research funding. Candidates for principal investigator who are not an established member of the host organisation may be put forward, on the understanding that they would join that organisation in the event of their application being successful.

How to apply

Expressions of interest (EoIs) must be completed and submitted by the closing date of 08 August 2019, through UKRI’s Joint Electronic Submissions system (Je-S). To be able to do this the organisation must be registered (for Je-S, and the applicants must hold Je-S accounts. Please see the Je-S specific guidance for full guidance in regards to submitting an EoI.

Please note: failure to submit an expression of interest at this stage will not preclude eligible research organisations from submitting an application at a later stage.

Enquiries should be sent to:


Channel website:

Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
Economic and Social Research Council

Giving the elderly a voice in Parliament: An interview with Rachael Maskell MP