Residential Landlords Association (RLA)
Printable version

Rotherham selective licensing scheme renewal approved

Rotherham Borough Council has confirmed that a selective licensing scheme in the town will come into affect on 1st May 2020, and will last for five years.

The selective licensing scheme will not apply to all private rented properties in Rotherham. It will apply to the areas of Eastwood / Town Centre, Masbrough, Maltby South East, Dinnington, Thurcroft and Parkgate. View the designation on a map here. 

At a meeting of the council’s Cabinet in January 2020, the council made the decision to adjust the proposed boundary of the Masbrough designation (to remove a number of dwellings which were not considered suitable for selective licensing) and also to postpone the declaration of the Little London area in Maltby.

I’m a landlord with a property in the designated area, what do I need to do?

Any landlord who has a property in one of the designated areas will need a licence that covers the period from 1st May 2020 to April 30th 2025.

Any landlord who already has a licence which covers the period prior to May 1st 2020 will need to re-apply for a new licence to ensure they continue to be licensed after this time.

Apply for a licence

Landlords can apply for a licence by clicking here.


A consultation on the plans ran from July 2019 to September 2019. The council received 578 responses, including a response from the RLA opposing the plans, which you can read here.


Channel website:

Original article link:

Share this article
Latest Campaign Updates Latest Research Updates Latest Research Reports
Join the RLA Latest News RLA PEARL

Latest News from
Residential Landlords Association (RLA)

Reduced financial uncertainty for customers and significant financial savings for Councils.