Science and Technology Facilities Council
Printable version

STFC'S Rachael Buckley – Institute of Physics Honorary Fellow

Congratulations to Rachel Buckley, a leading technician at STFC’s Daresbury Laboratory, who has been made an Honorary Fellow by the Institute of Physics, its highest honour.   

Rachel is one of six new Honorary Fellows for 2020, and one of two outstanding technical professionals included in the fellowships for the first time. This reflects the crucial role played by technicians in the advancement and application of physics and highlights the growing number of pathways into a successful and rewarding physics career. Rachael is also a key member of the steering committee for STFC’s technician commitment programme, which promotes the valuable work of technicians.

Dr Neil Geddes, STFC’s Executive Director for National Laboratories Science and Technologies, welcomed the announcement and recently said:

“Rachael is an impassioned and talented technician, who plays an essential part in accelerator operations at Daresbury, and she is key in supporting STFC’s internationally renowned research delivery. Technicians play a key part in STFC’s research excellence, so it is fantastic that Rachael is also being recognised for her incredible work and commitment to inspiring our next generation of apprentices and technicians.”

Having started her career as an apprentice at STFC’s Daresbury Laboratory, Rachael leads a team of technical staff at the STFC’s Accelerator Science and Technology Centre (ASTeC) at Daresbury.  She manages all operational developments and business for the department and takes a proactive lead role in the recruitment and training of a growing cohort of its apprentices.

Speaking about the honour Rachael recently said:

“I am both thrilled and surprised to receive an Honorary Fellowship by the institute of Physics, and to know that the crucial role played by technicians in this field is being recognised in this way.  I feel very passionate about helping our next generation of apprentices as they embark on their career in physics, opening their eyes to the many rewarding opportunities and avenues it can bring.”

Neil Geddes added:

“This honour also recognises Rachael’s regular involvement in our numerous public engagement activities, school visits and laboratory tours, and her mission to inspire our next generation of technical professionals, passing on her enthusiasm for her job and firm dedication to her technical career, which has so far spanned three decades at Daresbury Laboratory.” 

Honorary fellowship is the highest honour that the Institute of Physics can bestow. Rachael joins 65 other honorary fellows on a list that includes Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Professor Stephen Hawking and Professor Peter Higgs.

Read the full Institute of Physics press release at the website.


Channel website:

Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
Science and Technology Facilities Council

EU Exit Week