Department for Education
Printable version

Schools given £5 million to work with local nurseries

Minister for Childcare Sam Gyimah announces funding to improve the quality of early years education.

Young children across the country are set to benefit from the best possible start in life thanks to a brand-new initiative backed by £5 million of government funding to boost the quality of early years education.

The funding announced yesterday (29 January 2015) will be awarded to more than 60 teaching schools across the country who will partner up with local nurseries to drive up standards and share best practice. All partners will be able to learn from each other in order to provide better early education and care for children and families, and support effective transitions from nursery into primary school.

Evidence shows that the early years count. Children from less advantaged backgrounds can start school 19 months behind their peers, but good-quality early years education can reduce this gap and have a significant benefit in terms of a child’s development.

Children who benefit from good-quality early years can go on to earn around £27,000 more during their career compared to those who don’t, and are also likely to do better at school - the equivalent of 7 GCSE grades at grade ‘B’ compared to grade ‘C’.

Minister for Childcare Sam Gyimah yesterday visited St Pauls Nursery School in Bristol, which will benefit from £60,000 funding to develop programmes with local nurseries to help meet the needs of children in the area.

Sam Gyimah, Minister for Childcare, said:

I was delighted to visit St Pauls Nursery School to learn more about how Bristol’s children are set to benefit from this innovative scheme, which will help ensure they receive the very best early years education.

We know the first few years of a child’s life can be make or break in terms of how well they go on to do at school and beyond - and the sharing of expertise and best practice is vital to driving innovation and raising standards.

This is a fantastic example of local schools, nurseries and private providers pulling together to improve the fantastic services on offer to families, helping their children to thrive.

The new scheme will enable local nurseries to work with the very best early years teachers and school leaders to increase the quality of early years education in their area. The government recognises that systems based on the sharing of expertise are the best way to drive up standards in the sector.

Yesterday’s announcement is just the latest step in the government’s drive to make sure all children - no matter what their starting point in life - receive the best possible start in life and are ready to begin school, especially those from low-income families.

Since 2010, the government has also:

  • expanded 15 hours of free early education to 40% of 2-year-olds
  • improved the quality of staff entering the early years workforce by introducing early years teachers
  • reducing regulation to make it easier for new providers to open and existing ones to expand through the Small Business, Employment and Enterprise Bill

The successful teaching schools

This is the first group of successful schools to be announced. A second group of schools will be confirmed in mid-February 2015.

Lead school name Region School local authority
Three Legged Cross First School South West Dorset
Ellen Teaching School North West Cumbria
Ash Grove Academy North West Cheshire East
Vauxhall Primary School London Lambeth
Hillborough Junior School East of England Luton
Broughton High School North West Lancashire
St John’s Church of England Voluntary Controlled First School Wimborne South West Dorset
Childhaven Community Nursing School Yorkshire and the Humber North Yorkshire
Spring Cottage Primary School Yorkshire and the Humber Kingston upon Hull, City of
Forest Way School East Midlands Leicestershire
Whitehill Community Academy Yorkshire and the Humber Calderdale
The Lawns Nursery School South East Windsor and Maidenhead
Truro and Penwith College South West Cornwall
Britannia Teaching School Alliance (Belgrave St Bartholomew’s Academy) West Midlands Stoke-on-Trent
Outwood Grange Academy Yorkshire and the Humber Wakefield
Etherley Lane Nursery School North East Durham
Mottram St Andrew Primary Academy North West Cheshire East
Pound Hill Infant school South East West Sussex
Witham St Hughs Academy East Midlands Lincolnshire
Lyons Hall Primary School East of England Essex
Bristol Early Years Teaching Consortium South West Bristol, City of
Prince Rock Primary School South West Plymouth
Woolacombe National Support and Teaching School South West Devon
Brightlingsea Infant School East of England Essex
Tor View School North West Lancashire
Carmel College North East Darlington
Shepway Teaching School Alliance South East Kent
Horndean Infant School South East Hampshire
John Taylor High School West Midlands Staffordshire
North Liverpool Teaching School Partnership (Everton Nursery School and Family Centre) North West Liverpool
Kirk Sandall Infant Academy Yorkshire and the Humber Doncaster
Engayne Primary School London Havering
Fosse Way School South West Somerset
Piper Hill High School North West Manchester
Bohunt School South East Hampshire
Heronsgate Primary School London Greenwich
The Bridge Teaching School London Islington
Launde Primary School East Midlands Leicestershire
St Peter’s Church of England Primary and Nursery School West Midlands Shropshire
Evelyn Street Community Primary School North West Warrington
Heathfield School South West Somerset
George Abbot Teaching School South East Surrey
Pen Green Teaching School East Midlands Northamptonshire
The Mead Community Primary School South West Wiltshire
John Cabot Academy South West South Gloucestershire
Bishop Luffa School South East West Sussex
Kingsbridge Community College South West Devon
Chesterton Primary School London Wandsworth
Alexandra Park School London Haringey
Pallister Park Primary School North East Middlesbrough
Town End Academy North East Sunderland
The Blue Coat School North West Oldham
St John Vianney Roman Catholic Primary School North East Hartlepool
Oakthorpe Primary School London Enfield
Mount Street Academy East Midlands Lincolnshire
Wickersley School and Sports College Yorkshire and the Humber Rotherham
Sir Joseph Williamson’s Mathematical School South East Medway
Ilsham Church of England Academy South West Torbay
Cuckmere House School/TSA South East East Sussex
The Spinney Primary School East of England Cambridgeshire
North Beckton Primary School London Newham
Northampton School for Boys East Midlands Northamptonshire
The Queen Katherine School North West Cumbria
Ladycross Infant School East Midlands Derbyshire
Hassocks Infants School South East West Sussex
Huntingdon Nursery School and Childrens Centre East of England Cambridgeshire

DfE enquiries

Central newsdesk 020 7783 8300

General enquiries 0370 000 2288


Channel website:

Share this article

Latest News from
Department for Education