EU News
Printable version

Seven countries to receive nearly €720 million in EU aid after natural disasters in 2021

MEPs recently (17 November 2022) approved nearly €720 million in EU Solidarity Fund aid following natural disasters in seven EU countries in 2021.

The €718.5 million in aid from the European Union Solidarity Fund (EUSF) will be distributed as follows:

In relation to the catastrophic floods in July 2021:

  • €612.6 million for Germany
  • €87.7 million for Belgium
  • €4.7 million for the Netherlands
  • €797,520 for Austria
  • €1.8 million for Luxembourg
  • In relation to the volcano eruption in La Palma, Spain: €9.5 million
  • In relation to the earthquake in Crete, Greece: €1.4 million.

The aid package was approved by MEPs by 30 votes in favour, no votes against and no abstentions.

More information can be found here (Commission proposal) and in the EP report by rapporteur Henrike Hahn (Greens/EFA, DE), who recommends approving the EUSF assistance. The vote in plenary is scheduled for the December session.


Rapporteur Henrike Hahn (Greens/EFA, DE) recently said:

"The money from the EU Solidarity Fund approved by the Committee on Budgets today is a clear and important sign of European solidarity in times of crisis. However, fighting effectively against the causes of climate change, so that we do not have to rely on the EUSF too frequently, should be a priority for the EU, because prevention is better than after-the-fact measures."

Click here for the full press release


Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
EU News

The Golden Thread: A study of the contribution of the project profession to the UK’s economy