EU News
Printable version

The European Council appoints new Commission

The European Council yesterday appointed by written procedure the new Commission for the period from 1 December 2019 to 31 October 2024.

The new President of the Commission will be Ursula von der Leyen (Germany) and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy will be Josep Borrell (Spain), who will also be one of the Vice-Presidents of the Commission (Article 18(4) TEU).

The other members of the Commission will be:

  • Thierry BRETON (France)
  • Helena DALLI (Malta)
  • Valdis DOMBROVSKIS (Latvia)
  • Elisa FERREIRA (Portugal)
  • Mariya GABRIEL (Bulgaria)
  • Paolo GENTILONI (Italy)
  • Johannes HAHN (Austria)
  • Phil HOGAN (Ireland)
  • Ylva JOHANSSON (Sweden)
  • Věra JOUROVÁ (Czech Republic)
  • Stella KYRIAKIDES (Cyprus)
  • Janez LENARČIČ (Slovenia)
  • Didier REYNDERS (Belgium)
  • Margaritis SCHINAS (Greece)
  • Nicolas SCHMIT (Luxembourg)
  • Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ (Slovakia)
  • Kadri SIMSON (Estonia)
  • Virginijus SINKEVIČIUS (Lithuania)
  • Dubravka ŠUICA (Croatia)
  • Frans TIMMERMANS (Netherlands)
  • Jutta URPILAINEN (Finland)
  • Adina VĂLEAN (Romania)
  • Olivér VÁRHELYI (Hungary)
  • Margrethe VESTAGER (Denmark)
  • Janusz WOJCIECHOWSKI (Poland)

This follows the consent of the European Parliament to the new Commission as a body on 27 November 2019.

The Treaty on the European Union (TEU) provides that: "The President, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and the other members of the Commission shall be subject as a body to a vote of consent by the European Parliament. On the basis of this consent the Commission shall be appointed by the European Council, acting by a qualified majority." (Article 17(7) TEU).

Press contacts

Preben Aamann

European Council President Spokesperson

+32 2 281 51 50
+32 476 85 05 43

Ester Arauzo-Azofra

Press officer

+32 2 281 53 61
+32 473 63 07 23


Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
EU News