Buckingham Palace
Printable version

The Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry 2020

The Queen has approved the award of Her Majesty’s Gold Medal for Poetry for the year 2020 to David Constantine.

The Gold Medal for Poetry was established by King George V in 1933 at the suggestion of the then Poet Laureate, John Masefield, and is awarded annually for excellence in poetry. Each year’s recipient is from the United Kingdom or a Commonwealth Realm.

The Poetry Medal Committee recommended David Constantine as this year's recipient on the basis of his eleven books of poetry, in particular his Collected Poems, published in 2004, which spans three decades of his work. The committee is chaired by the Poet Laureate Simon Armitage, who received The Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry for 2018.

David Constantine has made significant contributions both to the European poetic tradition and to contemporary poetry, and the inspiration for his work ranges from the everyday, nature and our relationship with the planet, to the mythical world of Ancient Greece. 

While poetry is at the heart of David Constantine’s prolific career, he is also a scholar, a novelist, and an award-winning short-story writer and translator, whose translations of Goethe, Friedrich Hölderlin and Bertolt Brecht have been hailed by critics in the UK and internationally. 

Click here for the full press release


Channel website: https://www.royal.uk/

Original article link: https://www.royal.uk/queens-gold-medal-poetry-2020

Share this article

Latest News from
Buckingham Palace

AOVPN DPC Webinar Q&A: Richard Hicks and Leo D’Arcy: Register here