Ministry of Justice
Printable version

Two members appointed to the Tribunal Procedure Committee

The Lord Chancellor, after consultation with the Lord Chief Justice, has announced the appointment of Philip Brook Smith QC and Susan Humble as new members of the TPC.

The Lord Chancellor has announced the appointment of Philip Brook Smith QC and Susan Humble as members of the Tribunal Procedure Committee (TPC) for 3 years with effect from 4 July 2020 to 3 July 2023.

Philip Brook Smith QC, has a broad commercial and civil practice and has substantial experience of a wide variety of areas of commercial and civil law, achieving notable distinction in the field of Product Liability.

Susan Humble is a partner at RIAA Barker Gillette, Chair of the Taxation Disciplinary Board, and a Lay Panellist on the Professional Conduct Committee of the Teaching Regulation Agency. Between 2010 and 2018, Susan was the Chief Executive Officer and Clerk of the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal.

Both appointees have declared no political activity.

The TPC was established on 19 May 2008, under the Tribunals, Courts and Enforcement Act (TCEA) 2007, to make rules governing practice and procedure in the First-tier and Upper Tribunals. The TPC is responsible for nine sets of Tribunal Rules, covering 11 Chambers in the Unified Tribunals System. The subject matter of the appeals heard in those Chambers includes immigration, tax, mental health and transport.

These appointments to the TPC are made under Schedule 5(21) of the TCEA and are regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. The recruitment campaign was conducted in accordance with the Cabinet Office Governance Code on Public Appointments.


Channel website:

Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
Ministry of Justice

Resilience & Cyber4Good