Printable version

WITSA Awards | Extended Deadline & New COVID-related Award Categories

Applications are still open! Due to COVID-19 situation, the WITSA Global ICT Excellence Awards have now for the first time been moved into virtual space – with extended...

We are pleased to update you that the World Information Technology and Services Alliance (WITSA) Global ICT Excellence Awards nominations have been extended until August 1, with new COVID-related nomination categories! We encourage our members to take advantage of this opportunity. 

Due to COVID-19 situation, the awards were almost postponed until 2021 but, by popular demand from across WITSA member organisations, the WITSA Global ICT Excellence Awards have now for the first time been moved into virtual space!

The Virtual Awards will be held on 15 September, in conjunction with the 14-16 September “Road to WCIT Malaysia” – a live telecast event organised by The National ICT Association of Malaysia (PIKOM).

Further to WITSA’s previous announcements, they have now added three new COVID-19 related award categories and extended the nomination deadline until 10 August 2020.

If you have already submitted your WITSA Global ICT Excellence Awards nominations to techUK, we will use the same nominations so there’s nothing to worry about. However, if you’d like to send further nominations for COVID-related categories, please be in touch!

For those who may have missed the earlier deadline – good news – you can still take advantage of this opportunity!

The 2020 WITSA Virtual Global ICT Excellence Awards will recognize select users and providers in the following nine categories:

  1. COVID-19 Tech Solutions for Cities & Localities (NEW)
  2. COVID-19 Tech Solutions for Countries or Regions (NEW)
  3. COVID-19 Best Industry Solutions (NEW)
  4. Public/Private Partnership Award
  5. Digital Opportunity/Inclusion Award
  6. Sustainable Growth
  7. Innovative eHealth Solutions
  8. Digital Innovation Award
  9. E-Education & Learning Award

In addition, a Chairman's Award will be presented to a nominee selected from the entire pool of candidates from all award categories.

techUK is invited to nominate up to two candidates in each award category. The new deadline for sending your nominations is 10 August. Please send your nominations to at your earliest opportunity and do not hesitate to let us know if you have any questions.

Last year, techUK members Yoti and Chipside have picked up awards at the prestigious WITSA 2019 Global ICT Excellence Awards. Chipside has won the award for their technology which provides the opportunity to improve traffic flow in towns and cities, and better manage and define parking and permit guideline – reducing costs and offering the public an improved parking experience. While Yoti has been recognised for their efforts in using smartphones and biometric technology to transform paper identity documents, such as passports and driving licenses, into a free, modern digital ID. About the awards, Chipside CEO, Paul Moorby OBE, said: “Receiving this award is recognition for the hard work and results we have delivered for local authorities across the UK.”

2020 Virtual Awards Nominatingform (DOCX)

Virtual Globalawards2020-outline Final (DOCX)


Channel website:

Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from

The State of Cybersecurity in 2023