Honouring courage in journalism: Apply for the 2021 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize until 19 April

1 Mar 2021 01:38 PM

Applications yesterday opened for one of the world's leading journalism awards – the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize. Backed by the European Commission, the prize honours journalists from around the world for their courageous reporting and for their stories about people and the planet that highlight some of today's biggest challenges and inspiring solutions that address them. The closing date for entries is 19 April 2021. The winners will be awarded with €10,000.

To mark the launch of the application for the 2021 edition, Commissioner for International Partnerships, Jutta Urpilainen, yesterday said:

The European Union stands for freedom of expression, in Europe and around the world. Through the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, we recognise journalists who have dared, often at great personal risk, to report the facts and tell the stories shedding light on issues like injustice, inequality, and environmental degradation. Stories that showcase the inspiring ways in which people are responding. If you are a journalist who has told just this story in the past year, I encourage you to apply.”

Focusing on sustainable development

For nearly three decades, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize has been recognising high-quality, courageous reporting on compelling issues such as:

Who can apply?

If you are a journalist, you can submit a single application in one of these three categories:

How do I apply?

You can apply online. Applications opened yesterday 1 March and close on 19 April 2021 at 23:59 Central European Time (CET).

Who selects the winners?

A grand jury of renowned journalists and specialists in international development from around the world will choose the winners in each category.

Each winner will receive €10,000. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered work experience with a media partner.

The winners will be announced at the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize Award Ceremony (date to be confirmed).

Click here for the full press release