ONS Appoints New Economic Fellows

12 Nov 2018 01:00 PM

Office for National Statistics (ONS) has announced the appointment of new Fellows to its Economic Experts Working group (EEWG). First introduced in 2016, EEWG helps ONS set its development agenda for economic statistics as well as offering expert advice to help solve the difficulties of measuring the changing economy. This includes working on subjects where they have particular expertise. The Fellows also act as ambassadors to further the economic measurement agenda, raising its profile and importance.

The new Fellows have been appointed on two-year contracts, following an open competition, running from September 2018. Joe Grice, previous chairman of EEWG, has also been reappointed for a further two-year term, again following an open competition.

The newly appointed Fellows are as follows.

Ana Beatriz Galvão

Ana is Professor of Economic Modelling and Forecasting at Warwick Business School, University of Warwick. She joined Warwick in 2013 from the School of Economics and Finance of Queen Mary, University of London.

Ana is currently Associate Editor of the International Journal of Forecasting and Economic Modelling, and is part of the team behind the Warwick Business School Forecasting System. She is already a member of the Economic Statistics Centre of Excellence, delivering research in collaboration with ONS.

Robert Heath

Robert previously worked at the International Monetary Fund (1995 to 2016) on many aspects of economic and financial statistics.

Following the global financial crisis, Robert took a leading role in the G20 Data Gaps Initiative (DGI), drafting the 20 recommendations. Later he chaired the Inter Agency Group on Economic and Financial Statistics (IAG), which manages the initiative at the international level and includes senior managers from various international and regional agencies including the Bank for International Settlements (BIS), the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), Eurostat and the European Central Bank (ECB). He was instrumental in the signing-off of phase 2 through the G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors.

In recent years he led a two-person mission to the Gulf on developing statistics for economic and monetary union (2017 to 2018) and is a former Deputy Director of the IMF Statistics Department.

Paul Mizen

Paul has been a member of the faculty in the School of Economics at Nottingham since 1992 and is currently Professor of Monetary Economics and Director of the Centre for Finance and Credit Markets.

He is a former Bank of England economist and has previously taught at the economics departments of the European University Institute, Florence and Princeton University. Paul has been a visiting scholar to the US Federal Reserve, the Deutsche Bundesbank, the European Central Bank, the Bank for International Settlements, the International Monetary Fund and a number of other central banks and universities.

Paul is the Treasurer of the Money, Macro and Finance Research Group.

The three new ONS Fellows will be joining six existing members of EEWG: Giuliana Battisti, Diane Coyle, Thomas Crossley, Nicholas Oulton, Peter Sinclair and Martin Weale. They all have the title of Fellow. We would like to thank Jill Leyland and Sir David Metcalf, two former members of the group who elected to retire at the end of their terms, for their significant contribution.