Department for Work and Pensions
Printable version E-mail this to a friend

Social Security Advisory Committee publishes its twenty-first report

Social Security Advisory Committee publishes its twenty-first report

DEPARTMENT FOR WORK AND PENSIONS News Release (DRC-109) issued by COI News Distribution Service. 17 November 2008

The Social Security Advisory Committee (SSAC) has published its Report for the period from August 2007 to July 2008. The report was presented to the Committee's third 'Stakeholder Seminar', held in London on 13 November 2006.

Introducing the report, the Committee Chairman, Sir Richard Tilt, pointed to the Committee's commentary on the Government's ongoing welfare reform programme, its achievements, and the challenges posed by the economic downturn. Expressing the Committee's concern about the impact of the adverse conditions upon both the Department's customers and the agencies delivering benefits and services, he suggested that it might now be appropriate to reign back the pace of the welfare reform programme.

Notes for editors:

The Report features a summary of the Committee's work, including scrutiny of proposals for social security legislation and the Department's public information products, and advice offered to the Secretary of State on welfare reform issues generally

The SSAC is the main advisory body for the United Kingdom on social security matters, except those relating to industrial injuries, war pensions, and occupational pensions. There is informal consultation with the Inland Revenue for tax credits, national insurance and Child Benefit.
Most proposals for social security regulations have to be submitted to the SSAC before they are made. When the Committee reports on proposals for regulations the report must be laid before Parliament together with the regulations and a statement from the Secretary of State responding to any recommendations.

The Committee's Chairman is Sir Richard Tilt. The other current members are Kwame Akuffo, Les Allamby, Simon Bartley, Brigid Campbell, Dr Angus Erskine, Richard Exell OBE, Alison Garnham, Professor Elaine Kempson, Laurie Naumann, Patricia Smail, Professor Janet Walker, Professor Robert Walker.

The Report is posted on the Committee's website:, where further details of the Committee's remit, activities and membership can also be found. Hard copies of the Report may be obtained from the Committee Secretariat (0207 412 1506 or email

Date: 17 November 2008
Room 344, New Court,
48 Carey Street,
Direct Line: 0207 412 1507

Ashford Borough Council become UK's First Local Authority to Virtualise Voice: Latest Case Study