Learning and Skills Improvement Services
Printable version E-mail this to a friend

Regional Development Fund

Conversations with further education and skills providers lead to the setting up of a new LSIS regional response fund

With a deadline for applications of 25 February, the LSIS regional response fund will support immediate improvement needs in the further education and skills sector brought about as a result of changes to funding mechanisms and allocations.

LSIS recognises the need for support and is looking for bids that will enable providers in an English region, to deal collectively with operational, funding and planning challenges set by new government agendas.

Broadly, the fund can be used to:

  • set up a regional group involving LSIS Council members to use their regional intelligence on local/sectoral need and focus on priorities; 

  • promote activity and share  outcomes, ideas and effective practice across all parts of the sector, and across a whole region;

  • help organisations to respond quickly to the challenges of   reduced funding and new priorities; and

  • promote collaborative, sector-led activities that allow providers to enhance quality improvement in straitened times.

To find out more about the fund and how to apply, contact your LSIS regional development manager – see list below.

The idea for the fund resulted from recent conversations involving LSIS Council members and a wide range of participants across the further education and skills sector in England. The Council is particularly concerned to develop the creative and entrepreneurial skills that leaders and managers need to anticipate policy change and interpret, and respond to new freedoms and flexibilities. 

The outcomes of the support will be disseminated widely to enable us to develop further, the leadership and management skills of a continuously changing sector.

The LSIS regional development managers are:
 

 Name   Region   Email    Mobile
Sue Yeomans  Head of the Improvement Adviser Service  sue.yeomans@lsis.org.uk  07831 513 039
Sue Blake  West Midlands  sue.blake@lsis.org.uk  07920 710 584
Jo Higgins  North West  jo.higgins@lsis.org.uk  07770 488 854
Lorna Freakley  East Midlands  lorna.freakley@lsis.org.uk  07799 478 215
Abigail Lammas  London   abigail.lammas@lsis.org.uk  07825 933 774
Pamela Lumsden  South East  pamela.lumsden@lsis.org.uk  07825 933 771
Paul Cook  North East  paul.cook@lsis.org.uk  07825 933 775
Sylvia Gentleman  East England  sylvia.gentleman@lsis.org.uk  07919 101 416
Deborah Farley  South West  deborah.farley@lsis.org.uk  07825 933 772
Colin Forrest  Yorkshire and Humberside  Colin.forrest@lsis.org.uk  07795 496262

Webinar: How local authorities can use data to better support their citizens and unlock hidden savings.