Ministry of Defence
Printable version E-mail this to a friend

New fleet of RFA tankers named

Four new Royal Fleet Auxiliary (RFA) tankers, which will be bought as part of the Military Afloat Reach and Sustainability (MARS) programme, will be called the Tide Class.

The 37,000-tonne ships will come into service from 2016 to replace the RFA's single-hulled tankers, and will maintain the Royal Navy's dedicated bulk fuel replenishment at sea capabilities.

The 200-metre long tankers will also be able to carry helicopters and will support Royal Navy warships deployed around the world.

Full article, photos and related links

Get more out of life! Join CSSC for only £4.95pm!