EU News
Printable version E-mail this to a friend

Croatia ready to become 28th member state, say MEPs

Croatia is on track to accede to the EU on 1 July, the Foreign Affairs committee said in a vote on Tuesday. MEPs stressed their confidence in the strength and maturity of the country's democracy, social market economy and capacity to fulfil the obligations of membership. They also called on the three member states that have not yet approved Croatia's accession to do so without delay.

Twenty-four member states have now ratified Croatia's accession treaty but Slovenia, Denmark and Germany still have to complete the process in their parliaments. Croatia cannot join the EU until all the member states have ratified the treaty. The European Parliament gave its consent on 1 December 2011.

Sustain the reforms

Croatia must sustain its reform efforts beyond accession itself for the benefit of its citizens, says the resolution prepared by Libor Rouček (S&D, CZ) and passed by 60 votes to 2, with 4 abstentions.

Lead by example in the region

MEPs call on Croatia to share its valuable accession experience with other countries in the region and to play an active role in the stabilization and European integration process of the Western Balkans.

Plenary vote in March

The resolution is scheduled for a vote by the full House at the 11-14 March plenary session in Strasbourg.

Webinar: How local authorities can use data to better support their citizens and unlock hidden savings.