WiredGov Newswire (news from other organisations)
Printable version E-mail this to a friend


The Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents has launched its awards scheme for 2013, and organisations of all sizes and types are invited to enter using a new online process.

RoSPA Occupational Health and Safety Awards scheme, which is the largest and longest-running occupational health and safety awards programme in the UK, has a fully online entry process for the first time.

Entries will be submitted online, making use of the very latest web-based technology - bringing huge benefits in terms of security and convenience for all users. The system has been developed in association with expert database management solutions providers Safety Software Limited and is powered by their “airsweb” solution.

The RoSPA Awards recognise organisations’ commitment to continuous improvement in the prevention of accidents and ill health at work, looking not just at accident records, but also entrants’ overarching health and safety management systems, recognising important practices such as strong leadership and workforce involvement. There were nearly 1,900 winners in the scheme in 2012.

All entrants must register for the awards at
www.rospa.com/awards/ by December 3, 2012. There is an early registration discount of £54 for organisations that register by October 31, 2012.

Online entries will be password protected - offering better security than ever before, while avoiding the cost and potential problems of postal/courier delivery. Users should also find the system easy to operate.

Tom Mullarkey, RoSPA chief executive, said: “The RoSPA Awards 2013 will mark the 57th year in which RoSPA has recognised organisations’ commitment to continuous improvement on health and safety through the presentation of awards. During the last 57 years, there have been tremendous steps forward in accident and ill health prevention at work and it is fantastic to now be able to bring our awards scheme up to date with a fully online entry process. As well as giving well-deserved recognition to the winners, the RoSPA Awards are designed to encourage other organisations to improve their standards of health and safety management. Not only does the new online system make it easier for organisations to record their entry information, but it is also enables them to compare their performance data with the awards scheme and industry averages which, we hope, will spur them on to continuous improvement.”

The majority of RoSPA’s awards are non-competitive
achievement awards, although competitive sector awards are presented in around 20 different industries. Specialist awards are also presented to recognise achievement on specific issues:

Astor Trophy for occupational health, sponsored by BHSF
International Dilmun Environmental Award, sponsored by GPIC
Managing Occupational Road Risk (MORR) Trophy, sponsored by Allianz Insurance plc (fleet safety achievement awards are also presented)
Workforce Involvement in Safety and Health Trophy, sponsored by Westinghouse Springfields Fuels Ltd
Best New Entry Trophy, sponsored by Safety & Health Expo
RoSPA Academies Safety Award, sponsored by airsweb.

The RoSPA Awards 2013 are sponsored by
NEBOSH - the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health. This is the eighth year that NEBOSH has sponsored the Awards.

www.rospa.com/awards/ for more information about the Awards.

Calling all UK Government Regulators! The Government Regulatory Technology Survey 2022 is now open.