More schools, built faster

26 Sep 2012 01:57 PM

The Scottish Government’s £1.25 billion will see the construction of 67 new schools built for over 46,000 pupils, in every part of Scotland, by March 2018.

An extra 12 schools will be built under the third and final phase of Scotland’s Schools for the Future, after £80 million was brought forward in last week’s budget, providing top quality classrooms for an additional 26,000 pupils.

Education Secretary Michael Russell said:

“Providing the best possible school accommodation is vital to the successful delivery of Curriculum for Excellence. The first two phases of Scotland’s Schools for the Future programme are already lifting thousands of pupils out of poor quality buildings.

“We have met every local authority’s request for priority builds and added an extra 12 schools to the programme because of the Scottish Futures Trust’s vigorous commitment to value for money. More schools are being built, and faster, but for the same level of investment as originally planned

“By the time the Programme finishes, local and Scottish Government will have built 67 new schools, lifting over 46,000 pupils into top quality accommodation.

“This is also fantastic news for Scotland’s construction sector. By identifying all 30 schools now, we can get the projects moving and offer some certainty to one of Scotland’s key industries, providing a welcome boost to our economic recovery.

“I look forward to seeing how these projects will develop in the coming months and will endeavour to visit as many as I can.”

Councillor Bob Constable, leader of Midlothian Council, added:

"This is excellent news. This investment will be a catalyst for regeneration as well as providing an excellent replacement for a school which has provided splendid service over the last few decades but now, sadly, is showing its age.

"We are an ambitious council and it's great to see that ambition rewarded with funding through this programme. Today is about celebrating a major step forward for Midlothian. In the months and years to come, we will be looking at reviewing the facilities we hope to provide from the new school site and will undertake consultation as you would expect at that point. But as I've said, today is about celebrating an investment that will create jobs and a splendid new home for the children served by Newbattle Community High School."


More information on Scotland’s Schools for the Future can be found at: http://www.scottishfuturestrust.org.uk/our-work/education/schools-for-the-future. In February 2012, local authorities were invited to bid for support from the third and final Phase of the Programme by identifying their priority projects.

The £80m million of planned investment that has been brought forward will be allocated to revenue financed secondary school projects and will allow these projects to be delivered quicker. Up to 12 schools (as denoted below) have the potential to begin construction within in the next 12 to 18 months.

The next 30 schools to be built under Scotland’s Schools for the Future are as follows:

  • Aberdeen City Council – new secondary to replace Torry and Kincorth Academies*  (R)
  • Aberdeenshire Council – Alford Community Campus* (R)
  • Angus Council – Forfar Academy* (R)
  • Argyll & Bute Council – Oban High School (R)
  • City of Edinburgh Council – St John’s Primary School (C)
  • Clackmannanshire Council – Craigbank Primary School (C)
  • Comhairle nan Eilean Siar – New Primary School in North Uist (C)
  • Dumfries & Galloway Council – Crichton 15+ secondary school (R)
  • Dundee City Council – Baldragon Academy (R)
  • East Ayrshire Council – New secondary to replace Kilmarnock and James Hamilton Academies (R)
  • East Dunbartonshire Council – New primary school (C)
  • East Renfrewshire Council – Barrhead High School* (R)
  • Falkirk Council – Carrongrange ASN School (C)
  • Fife Council – New secondary to replace Buckhaven and Kirkland High Schools* (R)
  • Glasgow City Council – Garscadden Primary School (C)          
  • Highland Council – Inverness Royal Academy* (R)
  • Inverclyde Council – St Patrick’s Primary School (C) (refurb)
  • Midlothian Council – Newbattle High School* (R)
  • Moray Council – Elgin High School* (R)
  • North Ayrshire Council – New secondary to replace Ardrossan and Auchenharvie Academies (R)
  • North Lanarkshire Council – Greenfaulds High School* (R)
  • Perth & Kinross Council – New secondary school (R)
  • Renfrewshire Council – New ASN school (C)
  • Scottish Borders Council – Kelso High School* (R)
  • Shetland Islands Council – Anderson High School* (R)
  • South Ayrshire Council – Marr College* (R)
  • South Lanarkshire Council – New primary to replace Halfmerke Primary School and West Mains ASN school (C)
  • Stirling Council – St Ninian’s Primary School (C)
  • West Dunbartonshire Council – Our Lady and St Patrick’s High School (R)
  • West Lothian Council – West Calder High School (C) (refurb)

* denotes schools that could start construction with next 12 -18 months.

ASN – Additional Support Needs

(R) – NPD revenue financed

(C) –  capital financed 

 Some of the above schools will be subject to statutory processes as set out in the Schools (Consultation) (Scotland) Act 2010.