Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
Printable version

Antonio Horta-Osorio reappointed as Chair of Wallace Collection

The Prime Minister has reappointed Antonio Horta-Osorio as Chair of the Wallace Collection for two years from 1 January 2020 to 31 December 2021.

António joined Lloyds Banking Group in January 2011 and became Group Chief Executive on 1 March 2011. Previously he was the Chief Executive of Santander UK plc and Executive Vice President of Grupo Santander.

António started his career at Citibank Portugal and, at the same time, he was an assistant professor at Universidade Católica Portuguesa. He subsequently worked for Goldman Sachs in New York and London.

A graduate of management and business administration at Universidade Católica Portuguesa, António has an MBA from INSEAD where he was awarded the Henry Ford II prize – and an AMP from Harvard Business School. He has also been awarded Honorary Doctorates from the University of Edinburgh, the University of Bath, and the University of Warwick.

António is a non‐executive Director of Exor N.V., Sociedade Francisco Manuel dos Santos B.V., Stichting INPAR Management/Enable and Fundação Champalimaud in Portugal. He has been Chairman of the Wallace Collection since 2015.

He serves on the CBI President’s Committee. In 2018 he was granted the Freedom of the City of London and in 2019 was a recipient of the Foreign Policy Association Medal, British American Business Corporate Citizenship Award and the INSEAD Alumni Achievement Award.

This role is not remunerated. This reappointment has been made in accordance with the Cabinet Office’s Governance Code on Public Appointments. The process is regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. The Government’s Governance Code requires that any significant political activity undertaken by an appointee in the last five years is declared. This is defined as including holding office, public speaking, making a recordable donation or candidature for election. Antonio has made no such declarations.


Channel website:

Original article link:

Share this article

Latest News from
Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport