Innovation Agency
Printable version

Entries open for the North West Coast Research and Innovation Awards 2023

The search is on for the region’s most successful researchers and innovators, with the launch of the North West Coast Research and Innovation Awards 2023. The awards are organised by the Innovation Agency; NIHR Clinical Research Network: North West Coast (CRN:NWC) and NIHR Applied Research Collaboration: North West Coast (ARC:NWC).

The awards are an opportunity to pay tribute to those who have helped save lives and improve services, through the development, delivery or application of innovation or research. Key areas include patient safety, community engagement and research team collaboration. A special award to mark the 75th anniversary of the creation of the NHS is included in this year’s categories.

Innovation Agency Chief Executive Dr Phil Jennings said: “These awards are an opportunity to pay tribute to those who work to reduce health inequalities and improve patient care. Whether in healthcare or academia, I look forward to receiving nominations and meeting those who have made a real difference to life in the region and beyond.”

Professor of General Practice at the University of Liverpool and Director of the ARC NWC, Dr Mark Gabbay, said: “Last year’s event proved there is a wealth of talent across the region. It was a brilliant opportunity to publicly thank those involved and I would urge teams and individuals to consider entering the awards.”  

Professor Enitan Carrol, Clinical Director of the Clinical Research Network: North West Coast, added: “We are delighted that The North West Coast Research and Innovation Awards ceremony is coming back to Liverpool after four years. The Royal College of Physicians in the heart of Liverpool's Knowledge Quarter offers a fabulous venue to host our showcase event of the year, and celebrate the outstanding research that has taken place in our region over the last year." 

The region’s two Integrated Care System organisations covering Cheshire and Merseyside and Lancashire and South Cumbria are also supporting the event by sponsoring two awards in the areas of sustainability and tackling health inequalities. Twelve awards in total will showcase the best research and innovation from NHS organisations, industry and academic partners, third sector organisations, local authorities and other collaborators in health innovation.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on 22 June 2023 to be held at The Royal College of Physicians, The Spine in Liverpool.

The 2023 award categories are:

  • Innovation in Patient Safety 
  • Innovation in Workforce Deployment 
  • Culture for Innovation 
  • Research Student of the Year
  • The Ruth Young Award for Research Implementation
  • Outstanding Contribution to Patient and Public Involvement
  • Research Delivery Team of the Year
  • Research Collaboration of the Year
  • Primary Care and Community Research Site of the Year
  • Tackling Health Inequalities Award   
  • The 2022 Sustainability Award  
  • NHS at 75 Award

Entry is online at and the deadline for applications is 24 March 2023.

A video of the 2022 awards can be seen here:

Channel website:

Original article link:

Share this article

home about us our work supporting innovation news events resources contact us


Latest News from
Innovation Agency

Webinar: How local authorities can achieve millions in efficiency savings from location data